View Full Version : Fisher CA-800 Amplifier..


jleon92f
10-23-2008, 03:06 PM
Hi Audio Fans,

I stopped by the local GW today on the way home. They had the usual tape decks, high priced. I spotted a big heavy amp that I thought was a Fisher receiver, It was a CA-800 Integrated amp!:thmbsp:

Took it home testing now, Both channels work.:banana:

Needs some TLC.

Sounds pretty good so far.

Playing my old Cassettes.

Later,
John.:music:

cademan
10-23-2008, 04:25 PM
That's actually a CA-880. It uses the amplifier blocks, STK-0080. I know the meters are labeled to 100, but it is actually rated at 80 WPC. The one I own works great and is a keepsake as the person who sold it to me, died of AIDS.

jleon92f
10-23-2008, 05:11 PM
That's actually a CA-880. It uses the amplifier blocks, STK-0080. I know the meters are labeled to 100, but it is actually rated at 80 WPC. The one I own works great and is a keepsake as the person who sold it to me, died of AIDS.


Hi,

I just went by the Model # in the back. 80 wpc is way more than enough.

Bulbs are a pain to replace.

Later,
John.:music:

kretinus
10-23-2008, 05:21 PM
If not mistaken they had an 800 and an 880.

There should be an integerated sister to the BA-6000 in that series somewhere too.

Sir.Byrd
10-23-2008, 05:24 PM
Some people may be thrown off the by Studio Standard era Fisher gear, however I think you have a gem in the rough there!

jleon92f
10-23-2008, 05:50 PM
Some people may be thrown off the by Studio Standard era Fisher gear, however I think you have a gem in the rough there!

It's made really well, solid metal parts.

Should be a nice addition.

Thanks,
John:music:

kretinus
10-23-2008, 06:18 PM
My BA-6000 amp was built like a tank, just never had a decent pre-amp that sounded right with it. But for what you pay for it, the older Fisher can definitely be sleeper.

cademan
10-23-2008, 06:55 PM
Hi,

I just went by the Model # in the back. 80 wpc is way more than enough.

Bulbs are a pain to replace.

Later,
John.:music:

My goodness, you are correct! It is the model 800. Mine is the 880! The only difference I can see is yours has the connectors for a tuner and tape deck that is powered from the amplifier itself. Mine does not have those connections. Sorry about that!

Fisherdude
10-23-2008, 09:57 PM
The CA-800 is 100 w/ch, RMS, at 0.09% THD.

And it's a very solid amp, indeed.:yes:

jleon92f
10-24-2008, 06:26 AM
The CA-800 is 100 w/ch, RMS, at 0.09% THD.

And it's a very solid amp, indeed.:yes:

Thanks for the information, I am replacing the lamps now, 6.3v 150ma seem to work just fine. Had to put new bayonet sockets in.:scratch2:

Thanks,

John.:music:

jleon92f
10-24-2008, 06:27 AM
My goodness, you are correct! It is the model 800. Mine is the 880! The only difference I can see is yours has the connectors for a tuner and tape deck that is powered from the amplifier itself. Mine does not have those connections. Sorry about that!

They had the tuner there too, i am waiting for the Saturday sale price on that.

Thanks,
John.:music:

OLDTIMESOUND
10-24-2008, 04:23 PM
i have the matching tuner. also seems to be quality built.

jleon92f
10-25-2008, 12:17 PM
Bulbs replaced and cleaned up a bit, the front looks nice now.

Thanks,
John.:music:

jleon92f
10-25-2008, 12:40 PM
i have the matching tuner. also seems to be quality built.

I am going to look at the tuner today if it is still there.:D

Tuner was gone:tears:

Thanks,
John.:music:

cademan
10-25-2008, 02:19 PM
Bulbs replaced and cleaned up a bit, the front looks nice now.

Thanks,
John.:music:

Hey John, just curious! Does the CA-800 use the same amplifier blocks as the CA-880? Mine uses the STK-0080.

zenith2134
10-25-2008, 02:23 PM
I worked on a CA-880 for a friend with the STK.s One was blown; simple repair along with the bias resistor for that channel. I didn;t care for the sterile sound quality but it did have ample power.

cademan
10-25-2008, 02:29 PM
I worked on a CA-880 for a friend with the STK.s One was blown; simple repair along with the bias resistor for that channel. I didn;t care for the sterile sound quality but it did have ample power.

I also replaced one of my modules about 5 years back. Mine still cranks and sounds great but what do you mean by STERILE? I also use mine with a Fisher 10 band graphic equilizer with spectrum anylizer and a couple of Altec 15's.

tarior
10-25-2008, 04:20 PM
Hey John, just curious! Does the CA-800 use the same amplifier blocks as the CA-880? Mine uses the STK-0080.

Yes.

I have a couple of these amps, (CA-800) and they are real sleepers.

zenith2134
10-25-2008, 04:25 PM
In the brief time I auditioned it, it just didn't do it for me. Sounded rather uninspiring and not very musical. IIRC, I was testing it with some 'Ultralinear' brand 3-ways and a Sony CD changer from the early 90s. With a Pioneer SX-838 in its place, this system sounded quite nice.

jleon92f
10-25-2008, 05:45 PM
Hey John, just curious! Does the CA-800 use the same amplifier blocks as the CA-880? Mine uses the STK-0080.

I don't think so so here is a nude shot.

Thanks,
John.:music:

cademan
10-25-2008, 08:05 PM
I don't think so so here is a nude shot.

Thanks,
John.:music:

Thanks john, but tarior already answered and said they do.

Alex6969
10-25-2008, 09:28 PM
She sure is a beauty.

jleon92f
10-25-2008, 09:40 PM
She sure is a beauty.

Thanks,

Playin Scorpions CD, Awesome sound...:music:
I am playing the amp at a low level, have not crank it up at all!.

Thanks,
John.:music:

jleon92f
11-25-2008, 07:29 AM
Its ready for someone elses Christmas!

Thanks,
JOhn.:music: