View Full Version : Yamah kx1200u question


paulram
10-25-2008, 07:28 PM
I have the opportunity to acquire a yamaha kx 1200u deck..It is BIG , heavy and nicely appointed. However when I put a tape in to play..it is a single deck..It barely moves, then, a red "test" Light illuminates on the front panel and the head mechanism falls (relaxes). This deck is a dual capstan design..Could it just need a belt ? any help is appreciated..thanks

bastek
10-25-2008, 08:59 PM
The bias test switch should be OFF for playback. These decks need belts and new pinch rollers as they dry out with time, even when in storage. A great deck overall with remote capability.

paulram
10-25-2008, 10:32 PM
Thanks...thats a BIG help. I will try it again tomorrow...cheers!!!