View Full Version : BOSE 901, without BOSE EQ?


iloveitloud
03-24-2009, 09:31 PM
Can 901's be made to sound the way they were intended to without the BOSE EQ? The reason I ask is that I already run a spectrum EQ, and use the EQ/base,mid,treble controls as well. With both of those systems together, there is alot of potential to boost low, and high frequencies, which seems to be what the BOSE EQ dose. The main reason for this question is that I don't want to loose the spectrum EQ, due to the BOSE EQ takeing up the tape 2(monitor) input/outputs. Also, I found a good deal on some series V's, But the EQ is not included. Thanks alot for any advise.

Urizen
03-24-2009, 09:34 PM
Can 901's be made to sound the way they were intended to without the BOSE EQ?

:no:

Zilch
03-24-2009, 10:15 PM
The EQ curves are posted in a thread here.

Gonna be KINDA hard to get there.... :tongue:

Bob Orme
03-25-2009, 01:58 AM
Can 901's be made to sound the way they were intended to without the BOSE EQ? The reason I ask is that I already run a spectrum EQ, and use the EQ/base,mid,treble controls as well. With both of those systems together, there is alot of potential to boost low, and high frequencies, which seems to be what the BOSE EQ dose. The main reason for this question is that I don't want to loose the spectrum EQ, due to the BOSE EQ takeing up the tape 2(monitor) input/outputs. Also, I found a good deal on some series V's, But the EQ is not included. Thanks alot for any advise.
You won't be able to make them do more than they can, but with a good "other" EQ in-line, you most certainly will be able to get the same or better response that you would with the 901 EQ. Bose didn't invent EQ as a desired stereo component. They were the first (that I know of) to require it as an additional component for their speakers to perform at their best. Even then, a subwoofer and a pair (or array) of tweeters added will make a world of difference in sound quality.

Slyboots
03-25-2009, 06:21 AM
If you can't find the curves online I think I have them somewhere.

hhibrownsbac
03-25-2009, 08:36 AM
Im not sure about the series V you are contemplating, But I had a set of series IIs and I was never happy with them till I tried a Soundcraftsmen EQ with them, It was a definite improvemant over the factory EQ, so I would think that as Bob Orme suggests that you could use a different EQ and get as good or maybe even better results than the base factory EQ.

JosephH
03-25-2009, 09:58 AM
IIRC the Bose EQ has another tape loop to compensate for the one it occupies in the pre-amp, so it would be possible to use both, althouh I do agree that you could likely equal or better the Bose EQ with your own.

Rotoplooker
03-25-2009, 01:35 PM
A standard graphic eq will approximate the performance of the Bose eq, but won't have the same "range". Pretty much all graphic eq's are 12db boost/cut whereas the Bose is greater, I believe 15 db. Ideally, you should at least stick with the Bose eq.

oldhemi
03-25-2009, 01:37 PM
No life to them whatsoever w/o equalizer!!! Cant speak for using another equalizer. I believe that the equalizer for the series IV and V are the same. Series I,II,III equalizers are the same for Series I,II,III speakers, I think. The frequencies are different for the different sets of series.

Yes they do have a tape loop deal. I have always used the preamp to amp hookup for 37 years to my Series I.

klama2006
03-25-2009, 04:24 PM
Series 1 and 2 definitely use the same equalizer, series 3 is different. I don't know about any of the later models. With Series 2, I have run the recommended Bose equalizer, and also experimented with substituting out the equalizer with BBE sonic maximizer. The results with the sonic maximizer were decent.

The Bose 901's can basically be looked at upon, as a full range speaker with limited range. This is why the equalizer is needed to boost both the bottom, and top end.

Nat
03-25-2009, 05:20 PM
I wonder if the usual fixed frequency slider eq wouldn't give a lumpier response than the Bose, which I assume gives a relatively smooth curve. Of course once the speaker is in a room, you are going to have lumpy response because of the room, and so possibly the standard eq might give you a smoother overall response. Especially if its a parametric.
I don't think that the Bose unit is all that expensive used.

Fred Sanford
03-25-2009, 06:53 PM
The EQ curves are posted in a thread here.

Gonna be KINDA hard to get there.... :tongue:

Here's some info, and some...opinion.

http://www.audiokarma.org/forums/showthread.php?t=142289

je

http://www.audiokarma.org/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=74806&d=1200304418

realloud
03-27-2009, 08:11 PM
Can 901's be made to sound the way they were intended to without the BOSE EQ? The reason I ask is that I already run a spectrum EQ, and use the EQ/base,mid,treble controls as well. With both of those systems together, there is alot of potential to boost low, and high frequencies, which seems to be what the BOSE EQ dose. The main reason for this question is that I don't want to loose the spectrum EQ, due to the BOSE EQ takeing up the tape 2(monitor) input/outputs. Also, I found a good deal on some series V's, But the EQ is not included. Thanks alot for any advise.the real question is "how ARE the 901's INTENDED to sound?"but you hit the nail on the head as far as boosting hi and low frequencies,after all these are 4" drivers, they need no help w/ midrange frequencies! series 1/2 didnt have a mid control at all, bass is controlled by a 2 position rocker switch,treble w/ a 5 position pot.( I would bet all that "no highs, no lows" crap originated w/ that POS) I use a series 4 EQ w/ ser.1 speakers but I had no problems with 10 bnd pioneer, your spectrum should work just fine.