View Full Version : Roll your own center tap poteniometer?

blhagstrom
12-09-2010, 09:48 AM
SO, I was just finishing a Sansui 5050 rescue and went to listen one more time and the volume pot broke. :cry:

SO, I'm checking out dual gang 250K pots and find out I have a center tap pot and they aren't around anymore. :cry:

SO, I see a post elsewhere that mentions building a voltage divider from the two hot legs for the center tap. :scratch2:

OK, I understand what that is all about but I'm a noob. Can someone explain what I need and what I need to do?

I think its a resistor from each hot leg to a point that will be the center tap and then a resistor to ground? :yes:? :no:? What values?

Something tells me it should be simple. Something tells me its a common problem to solve, I've seen center tap pots before. My Akai has one with a broken shaft.

Finding a donor is an option but that could be a while. The unit is not terribly valuable but it is all working and pretty and it seems a shame to scrap/part it.

Sam Cogley
12-09-2010, 01:15 PM
That was probably my post. I would have more to report if I had ever managed to get that stupid preamp working at all.

westend
12-09-2010, 01:35 PM
These guys (http://www.potentiometers.com/SP50B.cfm), maybe?

blhagstrom
12-09-2010, 04:19 PM
Hmm, I think I was envisioning this backward. Half tap made me think of transformers half tap.

After looking at the schematic and finding a Chinese supply page that showed a half tap and said it was "laudness" I thought of Loudness. That's what the half tap appears to be used for. SO, if I don't rig it up, I loose the loudness function, I think.