View Full Version : Dahlquist history

blhagstrom
12-14-2010, 10:54 AM
I got this off the yahoo Dahlquist group. No idea if its all true but who would lie? Anyway, some interesting tid bits of info in here.

About 3 years after Saul Marantz sold his company to Superscope Inc, he discovered another great talent who was obsessed with designing the perfect speaker. The man by trade was an engineer in the aerospace-industry and had played a key role in the development of the lunar landing module. His name was Jon Dahlquist and after a quick meeting Marantz sensed his greatness and immediately formed a partnership with him.

In 1972 the Dahlquist speaker corporation was born, although it wasn't until 1973 that they introduced their defining product, the DQ-10.

Carl also attended all the New York City hi-fi shows, and in 1956, while still in high school, built his first loudspeaker. His earliest jobs as a graduate engineer were with large companies, where he designed defense electronics, but he left weaponry behind to start his own musical instrument electronics business. His initial contract was with Gibson, and he manufactured sound effects devices for use with their guitars.

His fascination with hi-fi continued unabated, however, and he recalls a memorable event from the early 1970s: “I walked into a room at the New York Hi-Fi Show and saw Saul Marantz with another, much younger man — I was told his name was Jon Dahlquist. They were playing a speaker shaped like the Quad 57, but it was a dynamic speaker, and there was a big sign saying, ‘This Is Not An Electrostatic Loudspeaker.’ They were playing a tape of a live recording of a marching band through a Tandberg 64X. The sound was so live I couldn’t believe my ears.”