View Full Version : Sansui G-7500 swap meet find, flame out!!!

Plomaman27
09-22-2011, 06:58 PM
Hi all...HELP SOS HELP!
I bought a nice looking Sansui G-7500 receiver from a vendor at a swap meet for $60 and thought I made a good buy even though the owner said it had a blown fuse.... Im a decent tech so no problem, probably a shorted amp or filter cap or even a brideg diode.

Well...(the best laid plans as they say:) I verified that the main fuse was blown so I replaced it with a 7A 250V slow blow fuse. (There was a piece of clear cellophane tape with the size fuse to use for the selected input voltage 120v) All's good right?....you'd think....that is until I turned the unit on. In a matter of a few seconds, the driver board started to smoke and a small flame came out of a resistor lead hole where a now half-burned-away resistor is. I turned the switch off as fast as I could but the damage was fast.... It doesnt look that bad after I cleaned the board with alchohol. there's a single burn hole and loosened pad with a short piece of the resistor lead still connected. The transistor TR19 fried too and a few resistors in close proximity to the toasted one got hot enough where you cant read the color codes.....although they still ohm good. I think I can make all the necessary connections without having to solder to the burnt pad when I replace the burned components. A yellow DC supply wire also turned black at the entry point to the board near the fried components.

IMHO, this series of events was caused by one or more shorted ouput amps. Obviously, I need to ohm out the power transistors on both outputs but im not exactly sure how to go about doing that without removing the back mounting plate. Problem is there's a number of short wires attached to the components on the back plate that go to various parts of the unit. Is it possible to test the power amps without remoivng the back of the unit?

Heres a list of the burned components that fried on power up: