View Full Version : Pot for Altec N-1600-C??


SoCal Sam
11-13-2012, 12:57 PM
Can someone suggest a replacement pot for Altec N-1600-C dividing network? My 605A's are waiting to play! Thanks!!

SoCal Sam
11-13-2012, 04:36 PM
Bump! Anyone??

bowtie427ss
11-13-2012, 06:46 PM
Sorry i don't have much to offer Sam. There was a fella on the same or similar quest a while back at the Altec board, but i can neither find the thread or remember the outcome.

Only thing i found was reference to this old thread here: http://www.audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?622-605-ALTEC-N-1600-C-Crossover-help!!

Do you have the old pot?

SoCal Sam
11-13-2012, 08:23 PM
Sorry i don't have much to offer Sam. There was a fella on the same or similar quest a while back at the Altec board, but i can neither find the thread or remember the outcome.

Only thing i found was reference to this old thread here: http://www.audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?622-605-ALTEC-N-1600-C-Crossover-help!!

Do you have the old pot?

Hi bowtie: I went through part of the AH thread. My skills are such that I can only replace and not re-engineer. And whatever is done to one will have to be done to the other to balance them out. Not a good option for me.

Yes, I have the busted pot. The shaft was pushed through the back of the housing with enough force to shatter the phenolic board. I thought I could get lucky and simply re-crimp the tabs on the housing but no go.

Plan A is to get a drop in replacement. Plan B will be to get another N-1600-C. Either way, my 605A's will sing again.

Alien_Shore
11-13-2012, 10:06 PM
This 16ohm LPad (http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=260-254) (or similar) should work just fine as a replacement.

Don Patten has a schematic of it - look in this thread (http://www.audioasylum.com/cgi/vt.mpl?f=hug&m=149526&VT=T)

Dave1027
11-14-2012, 02:28 PM
I hear Maui Wowey goes down good with those Altecs. :smoke:
:D