View Full Version : Can I Replace RCA Jacks in DAC?


lunchbox22
05-27-2013, 10:17 PM
I'm hoping someone can give me some advice on how to replace the RCA jacks on my Zero DAC. I like the thing, and I don't have the money to buy another one (or a different DAC) so replacing the broken part seems the wisest course of action.

I use monoprice RCA cables, and those things can really grip! Couple them with perhaps questionable build quality in my DAC, and you've got trouble. The cable pulled the metal shield off the female RCA jack (see attached photo below).

I soldered some things back in shop class about 15 years ago...so I'm (foolishly) confident that I can handle what seems to be a three-spot job.

First question: Do I even need the metal shield? I'm assuming I do, that it carries one part of a signal or a ground.

Second question: Where can I find a replacement RCA jack? (circled in red below in case I'm using the wrong terminology)?

cablephil212
05-27-2013, 11:07 PM
Before you break out your 15 year old iron, :D I would try to put the outer shield back on.

It's the ground for the RCA plug. If you have a meter, you can test it to see if the inner contacts are touching if you slide the sleeve back on. Set your meter to ohms. Any setting will do. Push it (the sleeve) back on, then take one probe tip and place it on the intact (lower RCA) outer shield. Take the other probe and touch the upper sleeve. The meter should read "0" , or close if it's making contact. If it is, just use epoxy to re-attach it. If it's not, see if there is anyway to attach a ground from the inside to it.

A better pic of the inside would help too. I can't see where the ground is on that connector inside the case.

Try what I suggested first. If there's no contact, post more pics from the inside at different angles. Getting that connector isn't going to be easy.

Post back when you can. Phil

avionic
05-27-2013, 11:22 PM
I'm hoping someone can give me some advice on how to replace the RCA jacks on my Zero DAC. I like the thing, and I don't have the money to buy another one (or a different DAC) so replacing the broken part seems the wisest course of action.

I use monoprice RCA cables, and those things can really grip! Couple them with perhaps questionable build quality in my DAC, and you've got trouble. The cable pulled the metal shield off the female RCA jack (see attached photo below).

I soldered some things back in shop class about 15 years ago...so I'm (foolishly) confident that I can handle what seems to be a three-spot job.

First question: Do I even need the metal shield? I'm assuming I do, that it carries one part of a signal or a ground.

Second question: Where can I find a replacement RCA jack? (circled in red below in case I'm using the wrong terminology)?

Yes you can replace those fairly easily. Those wings on the OEM shell were crimped to the PCB ground connection. Now that the crimp has failed you will never get a good solid connection with that connector again.

lunchbox22
05-28-2013, 12:27 AM
Before you break out your 15 year old iron, :D I would try to put the outer shield back on.

It's the ground for the RCA plug. If you have a meter, you can test it to see if the inner contacts are touching if you slide the sleeve back on. Set your meter to ohms. Any setting will do. Push it (the sleeve) back on, then take one probe tip and place it on the intact (lower RCA) outer shield. Take the other probe and touch the upper sleeve. The meter should read "0" , or close if it's making contact. If it is, just use epoxy to re-attach it. If it's not, see if there is anyway to attach a ground from the inside to it.

A better pic of the inside would help too. I can't see where the ground is on that connector inside the case.

Try what I suggested first. If there's no contact, post more pics from the inside at different angles. Getting that connector isn't going to be easy.

Post back when you can. Phil

Thanks for the advice Phil. I've already tried using gorilla glue to glue the thing back together. A different (lighter) cable ripped the shield off on the first go-round. After so many times of being yanked out of the cable's grasp, the shield is deformed, and I now can't really fit any cables on it...

At this point, I think I've gotta replace the thing.

Any ideas where to get the part I need to replace the RCA assembly?

avionic
05-28-2013, 01:03 AM
Same way Stoutblock did on his Yamaha.
http://www.audiokarma.org/forums/showpost.php?p=5764377&postcount=1

RickeyM
05-28-2013, 08:20 AM
Cardas GRFA DBL PRT

http://www.cardas.com/images/grfa_dbl_prt_g_pic1_transparent.png

I saw these on Sonic Craft's site. Others may carry 'em also.

avionic
05-28-2013, 09:24 AM
Cardas GRFA DBL PRT

http://www.cardas.com/images/grfa_dbl_prt_g_pic1_transparent.png

I saw these on Sonic Craft's site. Others may carry 'em also.

Leads are in the wrong position.

cablephil212
05-28-2013, 07:39 PM
You could drill in 2 new ones. RadioShack has these :http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2103234#

Wire them to the board, and leave the others where they are.

BigElCat
05-28-2013, 07:58 PM
Dude...that three point mount to the PC board is most likely the one that almost universal. They're dirt cheap if you want the non-gold ones. Ebay, Parts express, Digikey....lot's of suppliers. Soldering to the board is easy. Matching the screw to the hole exactly...you might have drill new holes in the rear panel.

You may have to fork out $4.99 to get gold one's.

:yes:

lunchbox22
05-29-2013, 10:31 PM
Ive decided to go with these: http://www.mouser.com/ds/2/209/KC-301053-199134.pdf

Hopefully I'll have an update in a few weeks. Any tips for not ruining the board while removing the old connectors?

RickeyM
05-30-2013, 10:04 PM
These (http://www.ebay.com/itm/1p-Right-Angle-Panel-Mout-PCB-RCA-Chassis-Audio-Jack-QG-/300542545783?pt=US_Amplifier_Parts_Components&hash=item45f9bb4f77#ht_2903wt_1237) might work. You'd have to cut it in half so you'd have just 2 jacks.

Use solder braid to remove as much of the old solder as possible.

lunchbox22
06-01-2013, 11:57 AM
These (http://www.ebay.com/itm/1p-Right-Angle-Panel-Mout-PCB-RCA-Chassis-Audio-Jack-QG-/300542545783?pt=US_Amplifier_Parts_Components&hash=item45f9bb4f77#ht_2903wt_1237) might work. You'd have to cut it in half so you'd have just 2 jacks.

Use solder braid to remove as much of the old solder as possible.

Oh this is a good option too. They do look like the exact same thing.

XJR100
06-09-2013, 04:21 PM
I'm hoping someone can give me some advice on how to replace the RCA jacks on my Zero DAC. I like the thing, and I don't have the money to buy another one (or a different DAC) so replacing the broken part seems the wisest course of action.

I use monoprice RCA cables, and those things can really grip! Couple them with perhaps questionable build quality in my DAC, and you've got trouble. The cable pulled the metal shield off the female RCA jack (see attached photo below).

I soldered some things back in shop class about 15 years ago...so I'm (foolishly) confident that I can handle what seems to be a three-spot job.

First question: Do I even need the metal shield? I'm assuming I do, that it carries one part of a signal or a ground.

Second question: Where can I find a replacement RCA jack? (circled in red below in case I'm using the wrong terminology)?

I recently replaced similar RCAs in Primare A30.5 amplifier - just remove this 2-section RCAs and replace it with some goods ones. I've used DH-Labs CM-R1 RCA (http://www.audiohobby.eu/en/dh-labs-connectors/4035-chassis-rca-socket-inside-nut-made-from-copper-hc-alloy.html) Sockets and DH-Labs AG-18 silver wire (http://www.audiohobby.eu/en/hook-up-wire/4106-revelation-series-pure-silver-hook-up-wire-18-gauge-9999-pure-solid-silver-tape-wrapped-low-density-teflon-insulation-red.html) for the board connection.

The reason why I've replaced - due to age plastic of RCA socket became fragile and case was broken near the screw and plugging cable can do more damage to socket or board. Also original RCAs were oxidized or worn.

Now new ones they tightened by nut to rear panel and plugging cables will not do any damage to amplifier board. Rock-solid now ;)

lunchbox22
06-09-2013, 08:33 PM
I recently replaced similar RCAs in Primare A30.5 amplifier - just remove this 2-section RCAs and replace it with some goods ones.

I really like those - I think this is a good way to go. Currently, there are three connections made from the RCA plug assembly to the PCB. Would I send two wires to the 'ground' connection on the PCB?

lunchbox22
06-29-2013, 12:17 PM
So I've gotten the parts I need (and a soldering iron as well.) I managed to remove the old RCA jack assembly from the PCB.

I'm still not exactly sure what to do about grounding both of these. I'm hoping someone can clue me in...

Pics:
Old Jack
http://s24.postimg.org/g1igmlygl/old_jack_Copy.jpg

Bottom of the board
http://s24.postimg.org/5q63ty6r9/boardbottom_Copy.jpg

Top of the board
http://s24.postimg.org/g42c9g245/boardtop_Copy.jpg

lunchbox22
06-29-2013, 01:47 PM
Prepping the new jacks...
http://s7.postimg.org/z3pcrn18b/2013_06_29_12_44_08_Copy.jpg

lunchbox22
06-29-2013, 02:10 PM
Okay - Need some input from the experts here.

Problem: The previous jack assembly had one ground pin. I'm going to have two ground wires. The two wires don't fit through the hole on the PCB. Whats the best course of action here? I see two options.

Option 1 - Get a hand drill, and try to enlarge the hole.

Option 2 - Send one wire through the hole, solder on the bottom. Solder the other wire to the first wire on the top of the PCB.

Thoughts?

lunchbox22
06-29-2013, 05:53 PM
Well, I decided to go with option 2 - soldering one wire on the bottom of the pcb and then connecting the other wire to that grounded wire on the top. So far so good? I put shrinkwrap on all the joints, reassembled the DAC, and lo and behold it works! Here are some more pictures from along the way.

The wire I used was a solid core copper wire that was used in the Yamaha project (see that post above). I found the wire to be somewhat brittle, though this could have just been my general incompetence. Two wires broke off at the joint twice while I was trying (gently!) to bend them into shape. Next time, I'll form the wires before soldering one side of them.

Here's the board prepped to be installed into the chassis
http://s10.postimg.org/fl95iqy3t/2013_06_29_14_46_56_Copy.jpg

View of the jacks installed
http://s10.postimg.org/ff01teecp/2013_06_29_15_45_36_Copy.jpg
http://s10.postimg.org/g9i01owtl/2013_06_29_15_46_05_Copy.jpg

It works!!
http://s10.postimg.org/qosrocje1/2013_06_29_16_04_39_Copy.jpg

Here's the rear of the DAC with the new jacks:
http://s10.postimg.org/n3ww54euh/2013_06_29_15_45_46_Copy.jpg

pete_mac
06-29-2013, 06:18 PM
Nicely done!

Celt
06-29-2013, 08:41 PM
Excellent work!

BigElCat
06-29-2013, 11:04 PM
Looks great!

We knew you could do it. Thanks for the follow up posts, and the pics. :thmbsp:

lunchbox22
06-30-2013, 12:02 AM
Thanks guys! Hopefully this, along with Stoutblock's great thread on his Yamaha, can be of use for someone considering a similar project.