View Full Version : KLH model 24's

gwhowey
12-27-2005, 10:33 PM
I'm a bit of a newb to this speaker stuff - so please excuse any faux-pas, and correct me if I have made any errors.

I came across a pair of KLH model 24 speakers in my attic - I plugged them into an amp, and one speaker sounded good - and the other sounded terrible (muddy, indistinct - basically fuzzy and incoherent). I pulled them apart to try and diagnose the problem, basically switching components from the broken speaker to the good one until I came across a problem. From what I can tell (all other things being equal - crossover, woofer) the tweeter on the bad speaker is just not working/is very quiet.

Where do I go from here? Should I try and find a replacement tweeter that is the same as the broken one (source for part?) or buy new tweeters from some other source - or replace everything (tweeter, woofer, and crossover). The cabinets and grills are in near mint condition, and I am not really an audiophile, and I don't care about resale value - but I would like to have a working pair of speakers for reasonable cost.

Thanks for any help.
-Garth

jpdylon
12-27-2005, 10:51 PM
Welcome to AK Garth!

The model 24 is a great small speaker. They were not great at handlling power, so you may have a cooked tweeeter. You can pull it out of the cabinet and test it with a multimeter or ohm meter. Resistance of the tweeter should be somewhere around 4-8 ohms. If there is nothing you have an open.

As for replacements some pop up on ebay now and then. You should post an ad on the wanted section of AK (audiokarma.org/ads) to see if anybody has what you need. There are a few members here who repair speakers that may be able to help.

KLH made some great sppeakers. I would see if you can get an original replacement. Using somethiing else is really going to degrade tthe sound.

macaltec
12-27-2005, 11:05 PM