View Full Version : Magnavox - Stereo Master Should I Gut it For myself

Alucard
11-10-2013, 09:09 AM
I Have a Magnavox Stereomaster console and I Feel its in great condition Should I Just gut it for myself and throw the rest away.

I Kind of don't have the heart But I Also Don't have the space.
Will I Have regrets later

Wigwam Jones
11-10-2013, 09:15 AM
It is yours, so do with it as you please. If it gives you pain to gut it, consider selling or trading it to someone who might want the entire thing. If no one wants it, then you could at least have a clear conscience about it.

gadget73
11-10-2013, 09:23 AM
What he said, but I'm something of a preservationist who likes antique radios and big consoles. I do understand that sometimes they just are not practical to keep whole though, and I'd rather see some part of it live on than none of it. The other sad part is that quite frankly the console speaker systems are also usually pretty limiting. I have a nice pair of amps in a console, but the speakers in there suck. The amps would sound much better hooked to something else, but I like the cabinets intact so I'll put up with it.

jaymanaa
11-10-2013, 09:31 AM
Radios and suitcase record players get spared the hammer here. Consoles however are just so big, that nobody wants them, or has room for them. I look at it like this with consoles and organs. If left alone they would likely end up in a landfill. If you pull the good stuff, it gets to continue singing for generations. There are exceptions to the rule; B3 organs, or custom consoles with uber cool designs and gear. I say whack it and build something useful.:music:

knockbill
11-10-2013, 09:37 AM