View Full Version : Yamaha A-1000 Integrated Amplifier.


Donkey!
05-18-2006, 05:55 PM
I have not seen much about these amps here at all. I love them and use allot of them. I am very interested in finding an older predecessor to the A-1000 era. I want to set up a small shop system. So if you have a suggestion, help me out please.

Here are some specs to the greatest integrated amplifier that has ever graced my presence.


continuous power per channel ( THD 0.005%)
120 wpc @ 8 ohms
Class A 10 wpc @ 8 ohms

140 wpc @ 6 ohms

It's not rated at 4 ohms, but I have run 2 ohm loads before with no problem

Damping factor 1 Khz @ 8 ohms is: 90

Intermodulation Distortion at rated output: 0.002%


Does anyone here use these amps?

Also, I have the service manual to this amp so if anyone needs more detailed specs. just let me know. Im happy to give it to you.

Vinylhammer
05-18-2006, 09:20 PM
I have an A-700, the little brother of your A-1000, with 100w/ch and I think 5w/ch in class a. I have to agree with you on the sound quality of these. Plenty of clean power and a terriffic phono section. The only place these integrateds come up short is in looks.

Some of the predecessors to your A-1000 are the CA-1000, CA-1010, and CA-2010. I think the CA-2010 tops out at 120w/ch with a bit more in class a than the A-1000. Also had smaller CA's in the 400, 600, and 800 series. All with classy silver faces.

I just picked up a yamaha CR-1040 receiver recently and it looks like a piece of art compared to the A-700. Sounds as good as the A-700 as well.

yamahammer
05-18-2006, 09:25 PM
used to have one with the t-1000 before i moved on to the big m series amps i have now double the power double the fun

Donkey!
05-18-2006, 10:03 PM
used to have one with the t-1000 before i moved on to the big m series amps i have now double the power double the fun

Well I use one amp with a T-1000 and HD-660s. Now the way I got around the power problem, not that there is one is, I use 4 amps and Bi-amp my JBL- E100s. I bridge each amp so 2 amps per speaker. That's the set up I use the a T-85 tuner on and a 6 channel mixer

Works great :thmbsp:

Now I just need a receiver for the set up Im thinking about doing.
I just need a radio and amp, so no need for them to be separates. Not quite sure what speakers I'll end up getting, but the rig is going to be used mainly for AM talk radio, so that's not a super huge issue.

Donkey!
05-18-2006, 10:08 PM
I have an A-700, the little brother of your A-1000, with 100w/ch and I think 5w/ch in class a. I have to agree with you on the sound quality of these. Plenty of clean power and a terriffic phono section. The only place these integrateds come up short is in looks.



That's funny. I love the looks of these amps. Black!

I have never been a fan of the silver jobies. But maybe it will grow on me.

It looks like Im not going to be able to stay away from silver if I get an older unit any way. :no:

thanks guys

pmsummer
05-18-2006, 10:31 PM
Shouldn't there be a picture here someplace?

Donkey!
05-18-2006, 11:07 PM
Yeah there should be. :scratch2:

Every time I try to load a picture into this site Im told it's too big, and frankly after this happening, oh say 20 times. I just got pissed and said the hell with it.

Im sure it's operator error though.

pmsummer
05-18-2006, 11:20 PM
http://www11.plala.or.jp/se_ke5583/YAMAHA/amp/a-1000.JPG
This it?



Or this?
http://www.flexiweb.no/media/documents/433095-%7B4DE1623D-F2EB-4EF4-9024-801D397854B9%7D.gif

Donkey!
05-18-2006, 11:29 PM
No. the top one looks like a weird A-700 and the bottom one is HT rig. DSP A1000. The ones Im talking about actually have a dash (-) in between the A and 1000. "A-1000"

These are two examples. the top link is just like mine but it's silver.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Yamaha-A1000-natural-sound-Class-A-integrated-Amp_W0QQitemZ230000158387QQcategoryZ3280QQssPageNa meZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com/Nice-Yamaha-Model-A-1000-Natural-Sound-Stereo-Amplifier_W0QQitemZ9726278490QQcategoryZ71550QQssP ageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Mine are all black and look great.

unclebort
05-21-2006, 04:06 PM
Attached is a picture of my A-1000 T-1000 combo that I purchased new sometime in '85 or '86. The amp runs hot so the tuner is only on top of the amp for purposes of the picture.

A lot of equipment comes and goes here, well most of it stays, but the A-1000 T-1000 will always stay. The only cosmetic defect in the amp is a small ding below the volume control. This happened when I took the amp in for repair in the early '90s. The tunner is OK for local stations, but nothing special.

Tom

zmalkovich
10-14-2008, 06:31 AM
I've recently purchased Yamaha A-1000 with spec you mentioned. The sound surprised me.
Unfortunately I think I have a problem with relay (MATSHUSITA DC24V 7A250VAC) and I need help.
If you still have the service manual for the amp please send it on my email.
I think you already discovered http://www.thevintageknob.org/

Thanks

Detailman
10-14-2008, 12:59 PM
Donkey

Can't seem to find a way to send you a PM. When I check the members list I don't find your moniker.
I can find an AIM message to send but I'm not on AOL.

I would dearly like to have a schematic on the amp section for that receiver as I have a broken one and would like to try to repair it.

Any other way to get in touch?
Try to PM me on the site if you would please.

steelervic
12-21-2008, 12:12 PM
i would really like to have a copy of the service manual for the a1000. thanks

ic-racer
12-21-2008, 12:58 PM
Get in to the Yamaha manuals directory and it is there.
http://www.kallhovde.com/Vintage%20audio.html