View Full Version : Best vintage speaker option for Rock, Blues, Jazz?

64JAZZBASS
07-06-2006, 08:16 AM
I'm a newbie here so I'd appreciate any advice you all can give. I recently resurrected a McIntosh 240 + C-20 preamp combination and listen mostly to rock, blues, jazz, and some classical. My friend has kindly lent me a set of AR3s and Large Advents to try with my set-up and they both sound great, but I "think" I want bigger sound (more low mids and bass). Next we're going to try a JBL D130 set-up with horn, but I'm concerned about the size for the room it's in. Can anyone recommend something that may fit the bill but be a bit smaller? I was thinking Klipsch Heresy or Cornwall, but as I said before, I am new to vintage speakers for the most part. I'm open to suggestion beyond these speakers. Thanks!

Ken

jguzman21
07-06-2006, 09:05 AM
Welcome Ken!

Of the three speakers you listed and what you want from a speaker I would go for the Cornwall. The Heresy and the JBL D130 won't come close to the bass of a Cornwall.

-j

Brian
07-06-2006, 12:02 PM
You won't find a speake that goes lower than the AR3a without getting into a BIG cabinet. The MC240 with them would be a nice mate for classical and jazz but will fall short on rock it the music is in the range you mentioned as wanting more of since the 240 with them will sound "flabby" and slow. Likewise with the Advents.

Another way to go is to try out the ARs with a MC2100 or 2200. Both have decent voicing for tube lovers but with more power will help the 3s sing.

The Klipsch will deliver more spl but the bass even with the Cornwalls will not go as deep though the 240 with them may provide more control and speed. The Heresy is not a speaker for bass lovers it really favors classical, jazz and vocals but anything with deep bass, it is not the way to go.

Not familiar with the JBLs.

cubdog
07-06-2006, 12:04 PM
JBL L-96 would do well with all those types of music. Plus they are affordable.

cubdog

Vitopanch