Not Getting that "Warm" Sound

SJC2574

Let me start with, I am very new to tubes. I started with an AR XA that was beautifully restored and upgrade and bought a Marantz 2230 and Heresy II's. I loved this set up! Everything I thought when I started in to building a vintage system. But, like everything, if it was that good what could be better...I know...TUBES! So after very little research I jumped in head first with a GemTune GS-01 with a Yaqin MS23 pre amp. Now, I just got this setup today from UPS and have about 5 hours on the amps. That being said, I hope this improves. So far I am not getting warmth from this set up. The sound stage is amazing so there is hope. Do I need to let these tubes burn in or will it not get much warmer? Is this a tube issue that could be changes with some tube rolling? If so what tubes should I be looking for? Anyway just wanted to give my thoughts and look for a little help...really hope this gets better. Thanks in advance

Tube equipment rarely comes with great tubes. You are still in the new range on those tubes, if your looking for warm tubes check out vintage mullards or brimar. Any of the vintage tubes are better than the new tubes.

Tube equipment rarely comes with great tubes. You are still in the new range on those tubes, if your looking for warm tubes check out vintage mullards or brimar. Any of the vintage tubes are better than the new tubes.

The OP hasn't said what the tubes are that are in the gear presently. That would help determine quality level and areas for possible improvement. Many new issue tubes are quite good with some outperforming 'vintage' in certain positions. Certainly some burn in time will improve the sound quality no matter what.

To the OP, give us a rundown of your tube compliment.

or....the amp is just doing its work properly and there is nothing to worry about.

I am of the opinion, that excessive "warmth" is sometimes actually a bug, and not a feature...