Fostex Fe206En: double bass-reflex or back-loaded horn?

Kreshna

...but I have to know.
I have never done DIY full range single driver before, but I've been recently interested in such thing. Then I started browsing the web, and was interested in Fostex FE206En.

Anyway, there seem to be two popular enclosure designs of the said Fostex model: double bass-reflex enclosure, and back-loaded horn enclosure. The double bass-reflex enclosure seems to be much simpler to build. And based on the Youtube video I've watched, the double bass-reflex enclosure indeed has more bass.

So it raises a question: what are the advantages of the back-loaded horn enclosure, then? If double bass-reflex is easier to build and has more bass, then why bother with back-loaded horn? And yet, back-loaded horn seems to be the most popular enclosure design for full range single-driver.

I have listened to both models, but only from Youtube videos, so it is not the same as listening directly --not to mention my amp and speakers color the sound of those videos. Could anyone more experienced with single-driver enlighten me more about the difference between those two designs?

Ive been wondering the same thing. Have you looked at the plans and flat pack cabinet kits at Madisound?

I have built a number of single full range driver speaker systems. IME, you can get much more performance from the FE206en in a BLH style than you could ever hope for w/ a BR. If you want a simple design, have a look at:
https://speakerprojects.wordpress.com/cabinet-types/bib-loudspeakers/bib-calculator/
I just finished building a pair of BIBs using Mark Audio 10.3 drivers, and can't believe the amount of bass these things produce. If you do a search for Bigger is Better or BIB, I suspect you can find lots more info, including my build. Note: I enjoy the A10.3 drivers very much, but they are, IMO, a bit on the fragile side and not for everyone.

Cheers, Jim