Multi client accessible music server

Bigyank

Long time Member
Subscriber
Was thinking of dusting off one of my headless severs and loading up some linux. Just now starting down the server and app lists. Anyone have anything going as a baseline or idea to share? I have 3 systems in the house and I can stream to each system individually but not concurrently.

I'm an old Systems Engineer (Unix) so not adverse to hard core compiling, etc

Last edited:
Logitech Music Server (LMS) is a mature product available across multiple OS platforms. I use it for both music and video driving a wide range of devices: microRendu player in main system. Raspberry PI/Allo player in garage, multiple Roku media players, iPad/iPhones using iPeng app (works as either remote or player) and Oppo 103. One digital library, multiple clients.

A cool feature is you can sync multiple clients to play the same content.

Logitech Music Server (LMS) is a mature product available across multiple OS platforms. I use it for both music and video driving a wide range of devices: microRendu player in main system. Raspberry PI/Allo player in garage, multiple Roku media players, iPad/iPhones using iPeng app (works as either remote or player) and Oppo 103. One digital library, multiple clients.

A cool feature is you can sync multiple clients to play the same content.

Add Plex and Roon. Both will require compatible clients/renderers.

Plex supports both audio and video content. LMS will require DIY client - there is no more commercial players. Roon is most popular platform today and have very good support of metadata, but no free cients.

LMS will require DIY client - there is no more commercial players.
Sure there are. My Sonore uRendu supports a number of server flavors including Squeezelite and Roon. Another is the SOtM sMS200. Plug n play.

urendu_sm.jpg