It looks like the "straight wire with gain" theory is being questioned

the skipper

Professional Curmudgeon
After years of audiosnobs looking down their noses at those who like/use tone controls, this little gem just made it's presence known. Now, this is not a fly by night company so there must be some need and demand in the audio community for something like this.

loki.jpg

http://www.schiit.com/products/loki

Last edited:
That's pretty useful in cases where you have a digital source, a plain DAC and power amp.
But - while I'm no proponent of "eliminate tone controls" and admit to have pressed the dreaded "Loudness" button more than once or twice, I feel the "straight wire with gain" dogma is still alive and kicking and should not be questioned. For an amplifier, first achieve this - straight gain, no alterations - and then add tone controls, parametric equalizers to your heart's content. If and when you need them.

It's hard to imagine anyone taking the "straight wire with gain" thing literally. Nobody ever mentions how long it has to be or what it's made of. It's more like a Platonic solid - a tetrahedron or a cube - that has a perfect mathematical representation but can't actually exist in perfect form.

The Schiit stuff looks really cool. Surprisingly affordable too.

Edited to change Pythagorean to Platonic. I mix them up all the time.

Last edited:
Didn't Julian Hirsh of Stereo Review days coin the term? Well, one of them guys did, and he used the term to describe what he thought was a marvelous machine that simply increased the signal it was fed, without any alterations to the signal, except for gain. This probably is a goal that all manufacturers seek, but seldom attain.

For myself, I like tone controls and loudness buttons, even tape monitors.

That looks like a nice unit to compensate for poor recording balance. I don't doubt that it sounds better than most 'graphic equalizers'.