The Official H/K Citation Owners Thread

Newbie here... saw a citation 21 for sale in my area. How good is the phono part of this preamp? Worth 180?
There is another Nikko beta 30 for 130. Is citation a better choice? Thanks

Citation 21 phono preamp circuit design is excellent as is the rest of the unit. Weak point is use of electrolytic capacitors that should have higher voltage ratings. I had an intermittent problem and by the time I could swap cables, swap inputs, or do anything else, it corrected itself. Having already replaced a couple of failed electrolytics in a Citation 24 and a CD 491 tape deck, and discovering that some caps were being run at or even slightly over their rated voltage, I recapped the entire unit. The time penalty is opening it up to get access to both sides of the main circuit board, so no point in stopping at one or two caps. Have had no problems since.

Thanks for sharing your experience...

Did you recap with electrolytic or film capacitors? How many are we talking about? It could be expensive if using high value film capacitors.

Citation 21 phono preamp circuit design is excellent as is the rest of the unit. Weak point is use of electrolytic capacitors that should have higher voltage ratings. I had an intermittent problem and by the time I could swap cables, swap inputs, or do anything else, it corrected itself. Having already replaced a couple of failed electrolytics in a Citation 24 and a CD 491 tape deck, and discovering that some caps were being run at or even slightly over their rated voltage, I recapped the entire unit. The time penalty is opening it up to get access to both sides of the main circuit board, so no point in stopping at one or two caps. Have had no problems since.