Record Cleaning: Developing the Best Possible Methods

Status
Not open for further replies.
I know it's in here somewhere; but I can't find it. If I am interested in building a DIY ultrasonic cleaner; what frequency and power am I looking for? Assuming the manufacturer even gives specs.

I know it's in here somewhere; but I can't find it. If I am interested in building a DIY ultrasonic cleaner; what frequency and power am I looking for? Assuming the manufacturer even gives specs.
I'm no expert but mine runs at 60kHz. You may want to try other threads as this one is about the cleaning solutions, not methods. Or try some of these:
Lots of info here: http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/analogue-source/276858-diy-ultrasonic-record-cleaner-frequency.html

and: http://sanfranciscoaudiophilesociet...ons-about-cleaning-lp-records-ultrasonically/

Here's a quick reference to where I'm getting my supplies (also, listed for confirmation that I'm getting the right stuff):

Hepastat 256 - https://www.quill.com/brighton-prof...r-handy-mix-dilutable-64-oz/cbs/51805647.html
EDTA - https://www.amazon.com/MakingCosmet...F8&qid=1522762832&sr=8-8&keywords=edta+powder
Triton X-100 - https://www.amazon.com/Triton-X-100...8&qid=1522762867&sr=1-4&keywords=triton+x-100
ISO - I'll go get it at my local Walgreens
Distilled Water - I'll go get it at my local Walgreens

And then I'll use Nathan's spreadsheet referenced in #1624 (but use 1/2 of the concentration because I'll try this in my Klaudio ultrasonic machine).

This is just a summary for those who arrive to the party later than I. :)

Thanks for this. After reading about 20 pages I was in need of a summary on this all.

Did you try to source any of these materials locally? Like a chemical or cleaning/janitorial supply?

For making small batches for hand/vac washing here's the formula I use. I'm posting because the link to nrenter's Excel sheet doesn't work for me anymore.

BATCH 500.00 ml
HepaStat 256 1.00 ml
Triton X-100 1.40 ml