Question about Fisher 400 Tone Control bypass ckt. For 500B

1rebmem

Halffast
Subscriber
I'm studying Dave's Tone Control bypass circuit on the 400 modified schematic and it looks to me when the High Filter Switch is in OFF, it inserts a 1.2m resistor and 8pF (?) capacitor between the two amplifier stages.

I don't see the 1.2m and 8pF on the original schematic so do these need to be added in lieu of the PC3 tone circuit when the tone circuit is bypassed?

The reason for my question is I'd like to draw a modified 500B schematic with Tone Control bypass and submit for review on the forum.

Screen Shot 2018-11-21 at 7.31.15 PM.png

Full schematic is in post 128:
http://audiokarma.org/forums/index.php?threads/improving-the-fisher-400.511867/page-7

Thanks for any help,
Jef

Last edited:
The PC5/PC6 packaged component pieces make up the HF filters, and are removed since the high filter function itself is removed. The HF Filter switch is then repurposed as a "Tone Control On/Off" switch, so that when the old HF Filter switch is turned on, the tone controls are engaged, and when off, they are bypassed. Since the PC3/PC4 tone control packages and general design of the tone control stages are basically the same between both receiver models, the new compensation value I determined for C79/C80 will be similar as well. The new bypass components are the 1.2 Meg resistor and 8 pF cap, and will remain the same.

Dave

That's an interesting idea. I never use the HF switch and I now wonder what the 500-C would sound like with tone controls bypassed. It's not the same as putting them full counter-clockwise or at 12 o'clock, right? Without tone controls is there an extra "umph" to the overall frequency range? Thorne

In making the following schematic proposed changes, I had two goals:
1) Convert the "Tape Monitor Input" jack to another Aux input.
2) Delete the high filter PEC (PC5) and convert the "High Filter" switch to a tone circuit (PC3) bypass switch.