FX Audio 6j1 tube preamp - a $31 wonder

As good as the FX sounded with it's tiny wall wart I was skeptical there was any room for further improvement using a better power supply. Wrong!

View attachment 1352778

Hello!
As a complete novice in terms of amplification and high - end devices, I can hardly understand how much sound can be improved by changing the power supply. Reading your comments I am inclined to believe it, and change the original power source. However, I would like to be able to hear the difference of the sound using the original power supply and another like the pyramid that you use.

Would it be too much to ask that you show us a comparative video?
Excuse me if I have exceeded the request.
Thank you very much for your comments and advice.

Audio is all about building to an established price point. The only way FX Audio can sell a tube preamp for $31 and realize any profit is by using a cheap wall wart. Few if any high end preamps or amps are powered by wall warts because companies budget for a better power supply. If you look at the Pyramid insides you can see that it uses a transformer like you would expect to find in more expensive amps. Cheap wall warts are notoriously noisy and that is what you want to avoid with a preamp. I've replaced wall warts with linear power supplies on amps, preamps, and DAC's and all have benefitted. You don't need a video, just do the research and read what others have to say. The caveat here is that with some low to mid fi systems the improvement of the FX may not be nearly so apparent.

th

Right, the FX pre is a price point wonder. If it had input selection it might be a giant killer of sorts, with comparatively limited output power. Adding this and that could cut value for price and move it into a more crowded category, so, for what it is as-is, it appears to be a real bargain as an active component for cheap pickup cartridge money.