KLH Model 6 questions

DJReese

I acquired a new to me pair of KLH Model 6's. The cabinets are in very good condition as well as the grills. I got them home and hooked them up to the Mac 1700. I immediately noticed a slight rattle in one of them. I then located the problem immediately. A loose tweeter...which led me to find out that 3 of the 4 screws were stripped out in the wood. I then removed the tweeter and immediately recognized that the magnet was not square and said made in Japan on the back. Well I was a little disappointed that it was not original.

Question these tweeters have a metal grill and say 30w on the back. I would like to find some original ones to replace these. Does anyone have the actual part #? I know that KLH made many similar speakers during this time period, and I was wondering if they used the same model tweeters which could be interchangeable .

I am still new to this vintage stuff and am learning so thanks for the patience.

Also I prolly should re cap the crossover. Does anyone have the part numbers for the caps? Where is a good place to buy them? Although I am getting highs out of the tweeters now but when I use the switch on the back I am getting a little different sound out of each click. Any suggestions?

Of the six KLH tweeters I've looked at recently, none had a part number on them.
Except, for the KLH 12, some had "M12" stamped into the metal (not inked).
Occasionally, some had a date stamped in ink on the backside.

Jef

Of the six KLH tweeters I've looked at recently, none had a part number on them.
Except, for the KLH 12, some had "M12" stamped into the metal (not inked).
Occasionally, some had a date stamped in ink on the backside.

Jef

Where would you suggest I find original replacements?

As to recapping them.....I've read some early 6's had oil caps and may not need replacement??
But if they are the common black "Temple" branded then yes replace them.