Your having audio issues? Maybe the troubleshooting flowchart is the solution.

Pioneer SA-7100

Just received a SA-7100 and the Tone Defeat Switch has to be on to hear anything. I am a beginner and not too versed in repair. Any suggestions? Thank You

This chart says that if a power amp hums or hisses when nothing is connected to its input, the amp is broken, which is often going to be wrong.
Additionally, if it is NOT humming with the music but the music is distorted, oh yes, your speakers are defective. :yes:
Conclusion, according this flowchart a distorting amp always has bad loudspeakers.

I was reading this flowchart for fun.
In the real, going by it does not work for me.
Somehow, I am always stuck in the very first loop.

Last edited:
Hmmm. I have a Pioneer Elite VSX27TX receiver. Just before I went on vacation two weeks ago I had decided to clean out the rats nest of wires behind that unit. Disconnected many speaker wires..I had A and B connections for speakers in two rooms. Didn't really need that and other similar such wiring decisions were made. Reduced the rats nest but a few days later the receiver went dead after 15 years of faultless use. There was no action when turning on the power switch--the standby light did not come on. Of course I checked the obvious-- unit plugged into AC etc etc. Now I used the flow chart (seen while I am still away from home on vacation). I still can't see how fooling around with speaker wires could ever cause the problem but I will certainly recheck when I head back to Canada. Thanks for the chart though...great idea.