Recent content by fmueller

1. fmueller

Volume Control

If anybody is still interested, I ended up driving the tweeters with the amp of the head unit. That doesn't really make it possible to control the volume separately, but I figured I could kinda do this by playing with the gain of the separate amp that's driving the main speakers. Turns out I...
  2. fmueller

Volume Control

rothwellaudio - Yeah, that makes sense. I am a chemist, and sadly skipped physics. I need somebody else to figure out how much current will pass to an 8 ohm load if put 10k between an amp and a speaker. But if you have any chemistry related questions, I am here! ;) The sistered speakers were...
  3. fmueller

Volume Control

Is this what I need?
  4. fmueller

Volume Control

century tek - many thanks! Finally some useful info after all this :blah: :biggrin: newzealand - I was in Colorado for one year 1996/1997. Then in Oz, and in Ohio from 2003 to 2014. I am from Germany originally and my wife is from Dunedin. Naturally we ended up in beautiful Aotearoa in the end! :)
  5. fmueller

Volume Control

I've scaled the home system way down. Some old Yamaha amp, my trusty old Paradigm 11se MkII, and a Bluetooth receiver for music from the cell phone. I have sold oodles of stuff, mostly before I left Ohio for NZ. That's why you don't see me here very often these days. I've just put a new system...
  6. fmueller

Volume Control

Hi Mike! Always glad to see another Kiwi! I was at the beach today with my dogs. Shorts and T-shirt weather! So far about the cold snap, but if you see some rain down there, please send it our way! The drought is killing my garden! Cheers
  7. fmueller

Volume Control

If I sister two speakers together, can I use a simple rheostat/potentiometer to reduce the volume of one in comparison to the other? If yes, and I am using a 100W amp with two 100W speaker, what K value potentiometer should I use? Total DIY newbie here, and just asking for a little fun...
  8. fmueller