Got the Kenwood KA-3500 Working

Spenser...I will do my best to try to help. But I have to tell you that I am very methodical and slow moving. There are too many things going on in this thread that make me confused or uneasy.

A couple of random responses to some things you mentioned previously-

Again, probing for voltages while the DBT is in place makes me uneasy. I noticed that you reported the DBT glowing brighter when you checked voltages on certain legs of a transistor. To me this feels like chaos. To an ultra knowledgeable tech who understands amp circuits backwards and forwards, maybe something could be made of this. But I am not that guy. I am a pragmatic hobbyist who likes to focus in on one variable at a time, so if I am able to help you it will have to be done in baby steps.

Static is not the same as hum or buzz. Technically, I believe that hum is 60Hz, and buzz is 120Hz, in either case a continuous low frequency heard on the speakers.. Static is something else. Also, you could have static, hum, or buzz while also hearing music signal. One does not preclude the other. To say that the signal is intermittent means that sometimes you are able to hear music on the outputs, other times not. This is a separate issue than any type of distortion (hum,buzz, static, etc).

IMHO, problem definition seems to be the thing most needed at this point. Problems need to be defined clearly one at at time, then (if there are more than one) prioritized. Basic DBT test seems to be OK now. But please describe the issue(s) you are having with the input signal, how you have tested, and what you have observed.

You also have a KA-5500. Is it fully functional? Do you have a known-good signal source, CD player (first choice), tape deck, or tuner?

Last edited:
Sounds good to me.

I'm a hobbyist, too. I've only been at this a few months. I'm trying to read material and learn as I go.