Bias problem on a KA-7100, new trimmer does nothing

Thanks for the idea, gort. As you know, that might find a problem or it might spread a problem. I have numbered, removed, cleaned, tested and measured the original outputs, then reinstalled them with new grease and clean mica. I did not record these, but I did note they passed the cheap chinese tramsistor tester with similar values L to R. I used Ceramique 2.

I wonder if I can get voltages with no outputs in place? I imagine it could affect some readings, but it would guard the outputs if I could test without them.

You could always insert a low ohm resistor (e.g., 1R or so) into the collector feed to Qe27 (or Qe29) - just to check the current going into it.

I'm not an engineer, so I can't read a schematic and tell the actual current paths - particularily to the L bias pot. I get voltage on the right pot, but no voltage on the left. Where do I look? Things (component values, voltages from s/m) measure reasonably until the pot, then they get off. I have removed this pot and changed it twice after close inspection of pcb, but I can't tell why there is no voltage. I believe this is key to solving the mystery. From the L pot on to the outputs most voltages are off.

ah, thanks Goldie! But, as I was just answering Gort, I/m not an engineer. How does inserting a resistor into the collector feed allow me to check the current? How do I measure that, just the usual DVM to ground?

OK, don't worry. Was just an idea to try and confirm what the outputs are doing, e.g., are they actually conducting or not - sound, & especially heat, would suggest they are, but your bias measurement suggests not.

You don't need to insert a resistor to measure the current; there are already emitter resistors to do that. When you measure the voltage drop across a resistor, you divide the voltage by the resistor value to calculate the current. This is Ohm's Law.