TubeDAC-11 Tube Rolling

Hey Wolfbane,

Not sure if your home or not, any further input on that tungsol 6dj8? Hope I'm not nagging. lol

I have really been wanting to try one myself but they are just out of my price range unless I happenn to find a used one at a great price.
I have been using a '63 Amperex Hooland BB for the last 9 months or so and have been happy with it. A couple weeks ago I found a great deal on some Voshod 6N23P Rocket '79 Silver Sheild tubes which have also been on my list to try. Wasn't overly confident on ordering from Russia, especially during these times but figuredI'd give it a try. I got them about a week ago and rolled one in. Immeditaely it was more detailed than the Amperex but seemed a bit grainy. However, after about 10-15 hrs, it has really come aorund. It produces a much larger soundstage (especially more width) with better imaging than the Amperex. The tone is great and bass is clean and tight. I even put the Amperex BB back in to make sure it wasn't just my ears adjusting but I definitely prefer the Rocket.
As the spreadsheet states, it is a a real sleeper tube and a bargain IMHO (as long as it holds up , time will tell)

-jay

Hi all,

I got myself a Tube-Dac 11 and been listening to the stock tube for about 2 weeks now. I am quite impressed and happy with it.

I don't feel like I am missing anything but I am curious about different tubes.

I have read through this thread and have been looking at the tube rolling results that brother love compiled. (Quite helpful and much appreciated by me.)

As a tube noob, I have some questions I hope somebody could answer.

Have you liked a tube with the supplied power cord but disliked it with a power cord upgrade?

Have you liked a tube with speakers but disliked it with headphones?