Realistic STA 2100 Issues

Husmasher

I have two 2100's and 1 2100D. All three are not working due to output issues. What I would like to have done is to rebuild all of the main amps. I am assuming that there are bad caps and transistors galore. What would be a suitable replacement for the output transistors? I am an electrician, but I have very limited knowledge of electronics. Where do I even start? Is there a safe way to test the left and right amps? Any help is appreciated and I will try to make this as painless as possible.

You should start by knowing what's wrong with each unit, otherwise you won't know what needs to be repair. It's not a matter of just replacing output transistors or caps; you need to know if they are bad i the first place.

First thing I'd do is download both 2100 and 2100D service manuals from hifi engine; those are free. Then choose one unit and begin the troubleshooting process, starting from checking out thoroughly what the reciever is doing and what not. Check all source inputs.

We can guide you afterwards.

Groovy. That's kind of what I figured. Rebuilding the amps and then having something before them that was causing the problem will just blow them up again. All I have is a volt meter. Will that be enough?

No, that won't be enough. You need on hand at least a good multimeter to attempt digging into an electronic device. A good one in my book is also able to read capacitor values.
It doesn't need to be a Fluke; as e.g Uni-T or Sanwa have nice units available at a lower price range than Fluke.

Ok cool. I have a Fluke 289 and that will check everything. So no oscilloscope required? The scope is what I was worried about.

The Fluke 289 is a great meter. An oscilloscope is not mandatory in the first instance, but could turn out to be at a certain point.