KA-907 - No Sound Phono Stage

bce22

Happy Thanksgiving my Audiokarma friends,

I have an issue with my KA-907. I turned it on yesterday and I have no sound through the Phono inputs. This morning I opened it up to take a look at the Pre-amp board looking for issues visually. The only visual indication of damage was a burnt resistor (R86 1/4 watt 22ohm). I replaced the resistor and it hasn't popped again but of course this didn't solve the problem.

I can verify that neither Phono 1 or Phono 2 have any output. I also plugged the Turntable into Tape and that doesn't output any sound either. Aux input works fine.

I am hoping that someone can instruct me on how to test this circuit to diagnose the problem. I can read a schematic yet I am not a pro at it yet. I have some test equipment including a Fluke with proper leads and on Friday one of those $25 dollar china meters capable of testing a wide range of capacitance and ESR should arrive. I don't have a scope however.

The service manual for the KA-907 is located on HiFiEngine for those that might be willing to provide some advice. http://www.hifiengine.com/manual_library/kenwood/ka-907.shtml

If anyone would be able to instruct I would really appreciate your help in this matter.

Best Regards,

Brad

Did you say that you plugged the phono into the tape and no sound?. Then the phono's output would be wrong... Try a adjustable output source, like
a cd player AT VERY LOW volume, into the KA-907's phono and see it you have sound. Again, make sure you have a very low output on the source
you will use to test the phono input!.

Thanks for the things to try. I'll look at the cables first then if that isn't the issue I will try a different source through phono at very low levels to see if I hear any sound.

I'll check in tomorrow evening. Thanks for helping!

Regards,

Brad