Search results

1. RevMen

Room Treatment Calculation Guide

It looks like that's calculating room modes. A room mode is like a natural frequency of a room. Sound at that frequency will either be stronger or weaker than sound in other frequencies.
  2. RevMen

Calling in the Pros - who has done it

This isn't exactly the point of view you're asking for because I am an acoustical engineer, not someone who has hired one. However I am in the process of finishing my basement which will include a purpose-built listening room. I've also been through the design process on other critical...
  3. RevMen

KT88 SE Abdellah (modified by Alex Gendrano) + AK..

I built mine almost 8 years ago and it's still going strong. With the right preamp and speakers it sounds fantastic.
  4. RevMen

Hi everyone! Long time, no chat. Link should be working. It's not a link to the file directly, but to a page at my website where it can be downloaded.
  5. RevMen

I've updated the link to a current download location for the file.
  6. RevMen

Time to start poking the bear...

What kind of floor is in the room now? You said it's a loft, are the walls straight all the way up with a flat ceiling? Or are they angled? I don't see any reason you can't get this room sounding fantastic.
  7. RevMen

Would covering the back of speakers do anything?

If it did, I'd expect that you'd find speakers in the store with insulation on the back.
  8. RevMen

another great video and why we need to pay attention to the room.

Those of you who think the untreated room sounds better, remember that in these examples the source and the mic are near each other. The effect of the room is diminished in this situation because the direct sound field is so strong. In a listening room situation your ears and your speakers are...
  9. RevMen

Help Designing 12'x12'x10' Listening Space

I don't know what this means.
  10. RevMen

Placebo or real $15K for a component stand?