Search results

1. K7sparky

Lafayette LR-9090 series / Setton RS 660 series Repairs & upgrades

It’s been years since I could hear much in the way of high frequency. If your cousin is happy it’s time to move on. The ends are not a standard thickness. I made cardboard templates for both ends. I Plane wood to be the same as original and Forstner bits to make the counter sink holes for case...
  2. K7sparky

Did you put it in parallel with C4 on Q2 EB? Do the Capacitive Reactance .005uF at 20 kHz = 1,581 Ohms .022uF at 20 kHz = 362 Ohms Look at C7 at 0.022 uF that couples the audio from Q4 base to Q3 base. I'm not an audio designer. I would want at minimum of an order of magnitude less and even...
  3. K7sparky

A good cross check is looking at the RS 660. Most of it is the same. It has some bells and whistles and other minor differences. The RS660 has the same value for R31 and R31 is also missing in the RS660s I have pictures of and the one on my desk.
  4. K7sparky

P6 is Point 6 on the PCB layout xRay view. If you mean #2 on the terminal board at the bottom you can trace it to P6. Right side of the PA schematic it is marked as 56K and shows it in series with the junction of R31 & R32 feeding other side to incoming audio R9 &R 10 feeding the drivers. It...
  5. K7sparky

P2 on the PA layout that I think is the collector of Q8?
  6. K7sparky

My first guess is PA high frequency oscillation. Matching won't help with the high current. Look for a burr(s) on the heatsinks that punches through the mica insulator(s).
  7. K7sparky

I believe what peteCWA is referencing I think of as transfer curves. The ONSEMI sheets have Typical Output Characteristics fig 7&8 and Typical Base Emitter Voltage fig 11&12. You what Base Emitter V (i.e. base current) to be high enough above the start of collector current to be in the linear...
  8. K7sparky