Search results

1. 300man

Apt Holman/Hafler vs Vintage Integrated and Receivers

I have no experience with Hafler Amps but do own a Apt Holman Pre and I am happy with the way it performs and sounds. I would say that the phono section is one of it's strong points. Was a little concerned with the stepped volume control prior to purchase never having used one. But it has been a...
  2. 300man

Weekly Estate and Garage sale finds (pics)

Went to an Estate sale yesterday didn't expect much based on the pics on CL. But it was local so I went, saw 3 pairs of speakers recognizing one pair as KEF 104/2, wound up getting those for $50.00. Then saw a set of bookshelves in like new condition that turned out to be PSB image B25s which i...
  3. 300man

FINALLY, onwardjames gets his tube amp!!!

Wow this is good stuff! Dare I say life altering level...lol. Happy for you and what's to come!
  4. 300man

What are you Listening To Right Now? - and more

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=gov%27t+mule+deep+end+vol+2+ Rock on!
  5. 300man

Speakers for good sound in a bad room.

I don't have a specific recommendation but in my experience a "bad room" would sound worse with most horn loaded speakers. ADS speakers or most with soft dome tweeters could work to your advantage. I have never owned line array speakers so can't help there.
  6. 300man

What is the quintessential speaker for each brand?

Mastering Labs - Big Red Urie - 813 Avid -102
  7. 300man

SVS subwoofer model difference

I would think that you will be happy with the SB1000 pro in a 10 x 10 room. If you move your system to a larger room in the future and feel the 1000 is lacking. A second 1000 would produce better more even bass then one single larger Sub.
  8. 300man

SVS subwoofer model difference