Search results

1. T

Help please on Pioneer sx 838

Thanks again. I will give it a go and let you know!!
  2. T

Thank you Markthefixer!! Any suggestion as to how to best clean those switches? Since I am not a pro I am used to cleaning pots that turn like volume and balance..these buttons push in and out? What is the best way to get at them? I appreciate the help!!(sorry about you dad)
  3. T

I want give this as a gift to my nephew . I actually recapped this about a year ago and de ox and cleaned.It was my first re cap and I am a newbe but had a friend who advised me.Unfortunately he took ill. The unit sounds fine but the source selector buttons are not working right. I play FM and...
  4. T

Large Advent Questions..Solder connection to woofer and more

Thanks Doug I have been listening to them while making a RTR highlight tape this weekend..I have had to turn down the base a notch at times..The highs are UFB as well..I am really happy to have them.. My 22 yo daughter said they " sound really rich"..I am really happy to be part of AK and feel...
  5. T

A shout out to Carl. He was a huge help to me!Doug I will take your advice as I have nothing to lose by trying to save the original fabric..It really not to bad!
  6. T

So I have re capped both and re foamed both woofers. I am pretty new at this and its my first "real" soldering job on equipment. I re did the cabinets with Restore a Fiinish. These speakers really sound great...The bass is awesome..I have always been an Allison guy,still am with a pair of 9s i...
  7. T

My Physics & Music Classroom

Tybrad...That is really cool! As someone who has enjoyed vintage stereo since the 1970s I find your post uplifting..,. I just started working on some equipment myself and I wish I had paid more attention to my high school physics teacher!! I just gave my 22yo daughter a vintage pioneer receiver...
  8. T

Pioneer sx 636