Search results

1. mbose

Eico HF-20 Cleanup: Appreciate feedback on a couple questions

Hah, you caught me! I skated over my "contribution" in the original post. I debated asking for opinions about the approach to new caps right away but thought it would make the initial questions too confusing. Other than the caps that replaced the can, and the one carbon comp resistor I replaced...
  2. mbose

Thank you for bringing this up. it's probably always worth mentioning. My workbench power supply chain is an isolation transformer, variac, and then when needed, a DBT. I was able to pickup a very clean copy of the original manual and the addenda that Eico published.
  3. mbose

No problem, @unga-unga, interesting stuff! I'm curious what you think of my approach to mounting the replacement capacitors since you have a lot of tube experience?
  4. mbose

Anyone Here Shoot M4/3?

Hi, I started shooting 4/3 with the Olympus E1. Got the E-P1 M4/3 as soon as it came out and have been shooting the format ever since. Had an early Panasonic and was impressed, but stayed with the Olympus line mostly because I was able to purchase very good condition used cameras. Currently have...
  5. mbose

Another question in this thread about the way I have mounted the under-chassis caps to bypass the cans. In the past I have just fit them in any way possible, but it has always bothered me, especially in an amp that already had a lot going on. (They never look great and I have seen some online...
  6. mbose

@unga-unga Yes, I am also one of those guitar amp and pedal guys who had an opportunity to buy trays and trays of NOS carbon comp resistors and NOS high voltage caps a few years ago. I was and still am just learning, and picked up the NOS parts because they were there and like you said, lots of...
  7. mbose

That makes sense, @gadget73. Thank you and @Mr Boochie for responses.
  8. mbose