Search results

1. Troubador

Some Empire Turntable History

But what I came here to say was - 5 pin Eby male plugs on Ebay (Hammond/Leslie/Empire pattern) https://www.ebay.com/itm/Connector-5-pin-Eby-male-plug/281610838390?hash=item4191506176:g:b2MAAOSwv0tU7ecc:rk:15:pf:0
  2. Troubador

The Philips screws you mention were, ISTR, cross-drilled and pinned at the factory. If you search this thread there are posts on this topic suggesting that these are best left alone. Trying to turn the screw without removing the pin will shear the screw off. I am no expert - search this thread...
  3. Troubador

Soldering advice

any brand recommendations for solder?
  4. Troubador

So all I need is an NOS 598 "I" Pabst motor with the three-step pulley? Great! Which vendor has the best price this week?
  5. Troubador

So, the 598 was a three speed turntable, the 598-II (mine) plays at 33 and 45 rpm (more or less;) ) - what was different? I assume the third speed was 78 and not 16.5, is there a way to modify a 598II to allow it to play 78s?
  6. Troubador

Ah, the mystery and magic of Empire tonearm cables! The middle cable, I think came with the table when I bought it in ’69 or ’70. I have a few more like this, two of which have failed. The one on the left may have come from Lyle after Empire shut down? The fat guy with the copper-coloured pins...
  7. Troubador

New pre-owned sales section of our site

Take a look at their restoration page http://hudsonvalleyhifi.com/mcintosh-mac-4100-receiver
  8. Troubador

What I learned on Craigslist

The listers may suck but Craig is a nice guy, at least
  9. Troubador

"Conversely, washing the well out with the ethanol might have stripped the bearings of their impregnation of lubricant" But I only had it in the parts washer for a couple of days, that should not cause any trouble…. Actually I used a swab just moistened with alcohol to wipe the well, it came up...
  10. Troubador