Search results

1. P

Stax SR-Lambda and SRD-7/SB

Nothing to worry about. They take a LOT of juice compared to other headphones. Nice score!
  2. P

NuForce Icon (new budget integrated)

The speaker cables are an issue, certainly, especially for me to use it with my Stax transformer. May have to solder. The power is plenty for my Stax and for nearfield speaker listening. Simplifying (and shrinking) my system would be a blessing, that's for sure... I could reduce my 50 lb...
  3. P

NuForce Icon (new budget integrated)

Any interest here in the new $199 12wpc integrated w/USB DAC from NuForce? I know budget components aren't very sexy, but hey, I'm a student. I've got one on order. The best pictures are currently on the sixmoons preview of the device.
  4. P

This is Interesting: Concert Venues, Volume and Hearing

High SPL concerts are a personal pet peeve. It's painful, I hate knowing that I'm damaging my hearing... and it sounds SO BAD! Especially the bass at an indoor show. I mean, why pay for live music when a recording sounds so much better? ....okay, there are a few reasons. But still, I avoid...
  5. P

R.I.P. Cachao

http://www.miamiherald.com/news/breaking_dade/story/466437.html
  6. P

Coolest Electric Guitar Amp - EVER!

I think you're missing the point completely. The source of the entertainment here is ~ 1% musical, 89% pure geekiness, and 10% bright flashing lights. Only the easily entertained need apply. (Like me, for example. :banana:)
  7. P

How Is Audio Recorded and Archive Today

The few times I've been in a studio the recording was done to HD and backed up on DVD. As usual, the answer to data security is redundancy. My understanding is that DVD's, if stored carefully, are less susceptible to "bit rot" than magnetic hard discs. And it's not unreasonable to expect them...
  8. P

Noisy amp in receiver -- but only at my house! Why?