Search results

1. KGBMAN

Good tube literature

Here's a good link to FREE PDF files of lots of good stuff. http://www.tubebooks.org/technical_books_online.htm
  2. KGBMAN

Newbie here...Some questions regarding The Fisher 400 preamp...

To the OP: If that house was truly frozen in time from 1960, chances are the power amp(s) for that setup is STILL IN THE HOUSE. It is probably inside a cabinet nearby where the pre-amp and tuner were. See if you can still find them.
  3. KGBMAN

AR-2ax restoration advice

Just do a search for AR-2 or AR-3 on here and you'll find lots of good procedures for cleaning those speaker controls. One guy did a very nice tutorial with plenty of pictures. Good luck and post back with your progress.
  4. KGBMAN

AR-2ax restoration advice

Kevin, First, if you can restore and reuse the speaker controls, do so. If not, replace them with Ohmite p/n RHS15R (15 ohm 25W rheostat). DO NOT simply bypass the speaker controls as that will affect the performance. Second, if the stock insulation doesn't smell moldy or musty... reuse...
  5. KGBMAN

Pilot console

I'll recap those speakers and see how they sound. If I still don't like them, I'll come up with something else but I won't cannibalize the originals.
  6. KGBMAN

Pilot console

I will eventually start my own rebuild thread but, since everyone is having a Pilot lovefest... here's mine: Receiver is a model 402. I'm in the process of replacing resistors after recapping it. Sounds pretty sweet but I know it can sound better. Turntable is a Garrard with ceramic...
  7. KGBMAN

Pilot console

WOW! I just picked up that same console! If you want to part with that Garrard, please let me know.
  8. KGBMAN

Console Turntable - Garrard

Thanks for the input and I'll check out the tracking force screw when I get done with the amp. I've been reading up on here and I know you're fondness for the Type A units. I'll update this thread when I pull the turntable. Thanks again.
  9. KGBMAN