Search results

1. belgianbrain

Upgrade from MM to MC cartridge and....holy crap!

Been getting back into vinyl. Bought a Pioneer PLX-1000 turntable, a Schiit Skoll preamp, and an Audio Technica VM540ML cartridge. The sound was very good, but my digital setup based on a Schiit Yggdrasil was better. The best I'd heard from my digital setup was definitely a solid step up from...
  2. belgianbrain

Happy New year Yamama fanatics !!!

Happy 2024!
  3. belgianbrain

Disappointed with Geshelli J2 4499EX

Yep, that's the video that prompted me to order it. Don't get me wrong - it's a good DAC. BUT, I've been rolling DACs for over 10 years now, starting with a couple of Lampizator units. Let's just say I don't quite understand the hype for it in the $~725 price range. Honestly, I thought my...
  4. belgianbrain

I didn't understand the switching wall wart. I immediately purchased a 12VDC linear power supply and the improvement was noticeable. Why Geshelli doesn't offer this as an option is beyond me. But, in my opinion, it still couldn't compete with my multibit DACs.
  5. belgianbrain

New setup = static?

You guys nailed it. I bought one of those $100 LP cleaning stations (entirely manual, which is fine considering I only have `50 records). Music is much cleaner now with less crackle and pop. Hell, I can barely hear the grooves on some records now.
  6. belgianbrain

Hi, I've been a multibit DAC addict for years. With the rave reviews of the AKM 4499EX, I decided to try the Geshelli Labs J2, 4499EX version. It's fully tricked out with Sparkos opamps and USB input. I also have a Schiit Wyrd cleaning up the USB signal from my Raspberry Pi Roon endpoint and...
  7. belgianbrain

New setup = static?

Microfiber is largely polyester. Isn't that bad for static?
  8. belgianbrain

New setup = static?