Search results

1. T

Sansui 1000 Tube Receiver - Please Help To Troubleshoot

Larry, sorry but I disagree, and forgive me for saying IMHO that is being over-cautious. I've been repairing stereos for 40 years now, and have yet to have one "blow up" because it was unloaded. that's an old wives tale. you are scolding a newb and creating a figment in his mind, about...
  2. T

Sansui 1000 Tube Receiver - Please Help To Troubleshoot

old thread, but worth reviving. I just picked up a Sansui 1000a and want to point out something interesting. the reason these amps can blow fuses upteen times and red plate tubes, and can be turned on without the speakers connected, and still live to be recapped and work another day- is this...
  3. T

best sounding 8 track player

old thread worth reviving you're taking a stand against the 8-track cartridge format, based on many false premises. let me explain: first off, 3.75 IPS is not a "bad" speed. cassette only operates at half that, 1-7/8 IPS. So how bad can 8-track be ? It's 2x the speed of the cassette...
  4. T

next B77 running :)

yes, the meters do "work" within a relatively small range with accuracy- my point is this- a meter that costs $900, should hold calibration within a very small margin of error, throughout the entire range of the scale, from zero to maximum readout. Have you calibrated the meter, and tested...
  5. T

the one I bought was a T2-H7-UM it lists for $445 in their 2010 catalog at this link http://www.tentel.com/Domestic%20Prices.pdf I got it for $22. None have sold recently in 60 days on Ebay, for more than $108. It appears to be a buyers market, and they are being heavily discounted on...
  6. T

exactly...:D if it was that far out of spec, you'd never even get the gauge on it- it would snap the tape first :yes:
  7. T