6N3, 6N3P, 6N3P-I, and 6N3P-E Question?

Discussion in 'Tube Audio' started by bikingbuddha, Dec 31, 2017.

1. bikingbuddha

bikingbuddha Member

I've been browsing ebay to buy couple of tubes to see how they sound like on my 6N3 pre amp buffer which i bought recently. I am new to this tube thing and i have no idea what are those...? I have a feeling that these can be compatible but i wonder if there is a difference in sound.

How do they sound like...? Will they be better than stock 6N3 Chinese tubes? i like warm mellow sound :D

Please register to disable this ad.

2. mhardy6647

mhardy6647 AK Subscriber Subscriber

bikingbuddha likes this.
  3. bikingbuddha

bikingbuddha Member

Lavane likes this.
  4. tom3

tom3 Super Member

5. bikingbuddha

bikingbuddha Member

6. Ttech

Ttech Grand Poobah Subscriber

I really like the Russian 6N3P tubes in my Maverick tube DACs. I like them better than the vintage 5670 tubes that I've tried.

CopperWizard and bikingbuddha like this.
  7. bikingbuddha

bikingbuddha Member

Awesome... that's really good to hear you liked them. I already ordered a pair; let's see how i like them too. Thanks a lot for the info.

8. prelius

prelius AK Subscriber Subscriber

According to the Russian standards (GOST) the letters after the tube type signify the following:
    V (Russian "B") - increased anti-vibration characteristics/mechanical sturdiness.
    E (Russian "E") - increased longevity (guaranteed for over 5000 work hours, unless otherwise stated)
    D (Russian "Д") - extra longevity (guaranteed for over 10000 work hours)
    I (Russian "И") - optimized for high-frequency/impulse operations
    R (Russian "P") - hardened to work in increased radioactive environments.

Each tube can carry up to two suffixes, hence 6P14P-EV (6П14П-ЕВ), is a Russian EL-84 optimized to withstand increased mechanical (vibration) and electrical loads or to work 5000 hours or more under standard mechanical and/or electrical loads.