Akai M8 Rebuilds

OCD_Sned

Hey All,

Just sharing the rebuild of my Akai M8 monoblocks for my man cave.

With a new baby, renovations, wrist reconstruction and work I have finally gotten a chance to start putting the right channel back together. Generally have to wait until they're all in bed or get up really early.

I had a friend build boxes for the amps from reclaimed timber from the ruins of the local crim ward.
So far I've stripped both monoblocks and cleaned/polished. Have stripped all the redundant wiring etc. Each channel will be identical with only a 6X4, 6BQ5 and 12AD7. I'll rearrange the left channel to have the valves in the same order as the right.

Have replaced all the capacitors with mainly Sprague. All resistors checked for accuracy before being reinstalled.

This is my first attempt at a restoration/modification of an old amp.

Have borrowed a variac from work to bring them up slowly just in case. Will power up tomorrow as it's getting a bit late tonight. Want to be ready to catch the smoke. :dunno:

Looking forward to listening to them. Still a fair bit to go. Have a pair of fostex FE166E's that need enclosures. Eventually a DAC with tube buffer powered by a raspberry pi running volumio and phono stage as well.

Chassis's cleaned and ready for rebuild
IMG_7464.JPG

Right Channel ready for point to point check and power up.
IMG_7538.JPG

The Sprague Atoms take up a bit of space on the tag strip. Had to add an extra tag strip as I spread out a bit too much for the original tag strip.
IMG_7540.JPG

Enclosures built by friend. They look good at this point but there's a bit of an air gap in the circuitry.

The timber was as hard as the place it came from but has so much character. When you look closely you can see very fine cracks in the timber. It's very well aged hard wood. Possibly grey gum.
IMG_7381.JPG

Not sure why he put the lobes in the front slot. He may have had a moment.
IMG_7397.JPG

IMG_7396.JPG