Any Mel Torme fans out there?

Discussion in 'Music Reviews' started by fredcohiba, Apr 15, 2017.

1. fredcohiba

fredcohiba Super Member

I am new to Mel Torme. I know of him of course but never really had the occasion to listen to him. I just stumbled across his CD, The Duke Ellington and Count Basie Songbooks. Fantastic. The clarity, separation and staging is really well done. Not to mention his vocals.
    What's your favorite Mel CD? I want more.

Please register to disable this ad.

2. Omegaman

Omegaman Ultra Super Member

The Velvet Fog

His voice is so smooth and rich

...like butter...pure butter

grillebilly and DanBNash like this.
  3. luvvinvinyl

luvvinvinyl Aggie! Staff Member Admin Subscriber

My favourite LP is Mel Tormé and Buddy Rich -- Together Again for the First Time. Direct to Disc, the whole band, one take for each side. Consummate professionals. Magic.

It's available on CD, as well.

mech986, yeehayashi and pustelniakr like this.
  4. fredcohiba

fredcohiba Super Member

Thank you.

5. Sandstrom

Sandstrom Seldom turns out the way it does in the song Subscriber

This is one of those albums I found sealed many years ago and have up until now managed to resist cracking open. I think my will power is waining :)

yeehayashi likes this.
  6. pdm4606

pdm4606 Super Member

I went to see him way back in the late 50's at the London House(Chi.) or some such place but the line was around the corner making it impossible.

7. Wildcat

Wildcat Audio Sommelier

Mel Torme Swings Shubert Alley is by far my favorite--the recent high-res version is especially good. But, he is delightfully good on all of the recordings of his that I own. Sadly though, none on vinyl as of yet. It's rare these days to find anything suitably "untrashed" in the used bins.
    I normally don't post videos, but this one is a gem...

yeehayashi likes this.
  8. luvvinvinyl

That is a stunning album. I buy every copy I find, usually giving as gifts to introduce people to the artists.