Anyone use a High Resolution Audio Player for home stereo sue?

halkaloogie

The Jerk
Trying to figure out a simple way to stream my digital files on my vintage integrated amp and this seems like a fairly cheap way to do it.

And it should say use not sue...stupid fat fingers

If you have Wi-Fi, a Chromecast Audio is a good option for $35.

Add a DAC later on if you like it enough and want to up the SQ.

Eric

All audio from my computer has a low hum that I can't get rid of I tried the Chromecast and took it back because of this. I've tried just about everything I could think of to get rid of the noise but it has something to do with the CPU hardware. It's ok for just having background music but becomes really obvious and obnoxious when played through the main system. I've looked into buying a cheap laptop and a DAC, but some of the high resolution audio players have nice DAC's in them and take SD cards which are cheap.

I have been doing this for about two years. I used a Fiio X3 high res player to play mp3 and flac files, and then I upgraded to Fiio X5 iii. The players send analogue signals to my vintage 40+ year-old amps: Sansui 7070, sometimes to Marantz 1060, and then to my JBL speakers. This way I don't need any DAC since the players have it internally. I also can play songs from my laptop computer, this time I use a tiny and cheap DAC (below USD20) and with great results. Even without the DAC I have no noise issue. You might want to check the cable or the connectors, or maybe the amp itself.