au-9900 stuck in protection mode

darai22jp

Hello.
This is my first post ever, although I am always checking out other threats. Living in Japan I am a fan of old Sansui gear, proud owner of an AU-666 and a AU-7500 both of them brought to life by myself. I have some knowledge but I am not a technician.
I was able to secure an au-9900 which kind of worked... distorted sound, noise from left channel... so I decided to recap it. Took me a couple of days...powered on for the first time and the relay made the nice "click" but suddenly disaster... 2 fuses blew in the relay board (F2582).
After a quick check, realized that a piece of lead from my suction tool was in the middle of the fuse holders contacts and that shorted the board....replaced fuses, powered on and again blown fuses again....so I started to look for damaged components. Found out that D002 in F2582 was shorted and tr06 in F2568 was shorted as well. After replacing those It power on fine but stays in protection mode.
I checked the transistors in f-2583 and also checked the output transistors but they all seemed alright (tested with diode method).
I was wondering if anybody has any experience with this amp. Any pointers would be of great help.
Thank you.

Yikes - there are a few issues here.

Firstly, you really want to diagnose and fix a fault with an amp before doing maintenance on it - including recapping. otherwise it makes it harder to ID to fix the original fault - plus you may introduce new problems with your new work.

Second - this is not an easy amp to work on - you will be aware that there are many seperate boards inside the amp, and they are all interconnected - these interconnections can go "wrong" at one end, and the "pass thru's" may need fixing (do a search on this on this forum). I had a 9900 and eventually sold it as I couldnt for the life of me diagnose on intermittent dropping-out channel in the pre section.