Bob's Tuner Tales

nailer

audionerd
Subscriber
Bob's Tuner Tale

PROLOGUE

After owning only a single tuner at any given time for most of my life, I have somehow managed to go from one to five in the past 1.5 years. Before I started collecting tuners - having three or more of any adult toy makes one a collector - I listened to the same tuner for 11 years, and it's still my favorite. However, the KT-8300 I'm listening to at this very moment demonstrates that a tuneful tuner with a great RF section can be had for less than $300.

In audiophile terms there is a significant sonic difference between the high-end tuner I've been listening to since 1994 and the KT-8300. However, I'm an audio nerd and see the equipment as a cool toy for playing music. In other words, I like audio equipment because I like music. If I could only have speakers, receiver, and CD player I'd be listening to music just as much as I do now. To this end, FM (free music) has always been one of my major music sources. Now it is my primary source, with CD being a distant second, and LP an even more distant third.

Enough about music, this post is about tuners. For 10.5 years my sole tuner was a Day Sequerra Studio. I remember when the original Sequerra came out and thought it was one of the coolest pieces of equipment I'd ever seen. The Sequerra, hence my Day Sequerra, is still one cool looking tuner. The Studio was a smooth sonic mesh with my system at the time - ML Sequel II, Berning TF-12, and AR D-75 MKII. Today only the amp has changed - Music Reference RM-9.