Bogen RP-230 Restore

x2turbo

I'm new to tube gear and I recently picked up a Bogen RP-230. I've replaced all the electrolytics, including the multi-cap cans but I'm wondering if there is anything else I should replace?

I've read that the selenium rectifiers should be replaced, but I'm not sure what\where that is. Is it the square bock near the cap in the middle of the top of the picture? If so, do I replace it with a diode? Not sure what type though. Also read that if it replaced with a diode a resistor should also be used in line.

Anything else I should replace?

Sorry for all the questions but I want to make sure I've gotten everything before I fire it up. The previous owner said it worked before I bought it and all the tubes glowed, but I haven't turned it on since I got it. I have a variac arriving on Friday and won't turn it on before I have that to use.

Thanks

IMG_0671.JPG

Can't tell what the black box is. Can you get a close up?

If it has line to chassis or across the line caps, I like to change those to modern safety (X1/Y1) rated caps. The old ones could possibly fail shorted.

Otherwise the usual of replacing electrolytic caps and paper caps does the job most of the time. Wouldn't be a terrible idea to find out if it has any sort of bias adjustment procedure, and maybe add in some means of checking the current through the tubes if it has nothing. Can't find a schematic, so no idea what this one specifically uses.

Here are some closer pics. I do have a copy of the schematic. I'll scan it tomorrow.

The caps you mention, are they the ones in the second pic? I replaced the 4uf caps with 5uf Sprague Atoms.
IMG_0672.JPG IMG_0673.JPG

Our goal is not to replace EVERYTHING but only what needs to be replaced. That would be: electrolytic caps and paper caps. Everything else pending functionality (out of specks). Fire it up and watch the current, even without variac fuse of original value would blow if something is wrong.