Burned again, Chinese gear not built to schematic...

Dr. Ears

I have my second Chinese made integrated amplifier unable to be repaired because it wasn't built to the schematic. The first one featured 845 output tubes, the second one featured 211 output tubes.
I love how they sounded with the coupling caps rolled.
My next integrated will be made in Japan and upgraded by Victor Kung of vkmusic.ca.
Victor is a CPA by trade, high-end audio is his side gig. He knows what he is doing and he is a very nice guy,
who prices his gear very fairly.
Meanwhile, I am enjoying a Scott r77s, made in Belgium and purchased on "Letgo" for $30.
Buying vintage may make more sense than new Chinese gear because at least you know that it can be repaired and upgraded.

A good tech should be able to repair your amplifiers even with no schematic.
Yes, but at a price that makes it not worthwhile.
I am going to try an inexpensive tubed preamp or tube buffer with my Scott r77s.
I own hundreds of 6SN7's and 6SN7 substitutes, about 100 6SL7's and more than 100 6N3 / 5670 / 2C51 / 396a, so it makes sense for me to try and find away to use these tubes.
I did see the 6N3 version of the $31 wonder on Amazon for $61 and believe that the 6N3's will sound better than the 6J1's and their equivalents

It's unclear to me how you can boldly claim that the amp wasn't built to the schematic. If the unit you have doesn't match the schematic you have, that simply means you have the wrong schematic.

Hmmm? Burned once, twice shy didn't apply here?

Oft times, even with other types of gear, this formula holds true. That "Throw Away" attitude is foremost in the minds of those...over there with the profit margin in mind.

Strange how "vint" becomes "mint" in the long run.

Q

Maybe if you provided any details at all about the “unable to be repaired” amp, someone could offer advice. Or is the purpose of the thread just to dump on Chinese made products?