DAC for streaming

bjlefebvre

Hey all,

Now that my analogue system is complete, I'm going to start looking at DACs. Most of my digital listening comes via streaming - my CDs are in storage and to be honest I don't even have a CD player anymore. I don't have a laptop that's good for audio files, either - I use a Chromebook. I'm a relative DAC noob and was wondering whether my prioritization on streaming mean that there is a certain subset of DACs that I should be looking at? If all I'm going to be doing is streaming from a Chromecast to the DAC, is there a danger of overkill by going too high up the chain? Right now I'm looking at a Schitt Bifrost Multibit or a used PS Audio NuWave or possibly a used Auralic Vega.

Thanks,
Ben

I am not aware of any subset of DACs specifically made for streaming. Rather, a DAC chipset spec tends to be the driver. As long as the DAC chipset can handle the streaming signal specification then it's a matter of finding the one that sounds best to you. I don't think you'll find one that won't handle all streaming signals.

In my opinion, the Schiit would be a great choice then the Auralic Vega. I have no experience with the PS Audio unit so can't comment on that.

What connection do you plan on using from your source to the DAC?

I really like my Bluesound Node 2.

I do not feel I need an external DAC for it.

I believe you would need the ability to run Android apps on your Chromebook.

Nope. I can cast Spotify from my phone or Chromebook to the Chromecast, which plugs into the DAC.
I got a line on a used Gunginir. Reading up on that one now....

Ok, now I have a choice between the Gungnir sigma-delta and a PS Audio NuWave, both available at the same price. This is driving me crazy....