DacMagic not processing 16/48kHz?

mikemontri

I have been using my DM for the last four months feeding it with signal from my CDP through both Toslink and Coax with no problem. The DM usually shows it receives the 16/44.1 signal. Feeding the DM with a wired USB cable works great and the unit shows 16/44.1 signal.

I recently bought a wireless USB>SPDIF converter. When I feed the signal from my USB>SPDIF unit to the DM, the DM shows that it receives 48kHz signal (the blue dot lights up under 48kHz), however, no sound??? I tried both the Coax and Toslink, no sound. I know that my USB>SPDIF unit outputs a 16/48kHz signal but I wonder why the DM not processing it and not outputting the sound. When I fed the same signal to a different DAC, the other DAC was able to process it with no problem.

I do understand that the DM will only process PCM or LPCM two-channel signal only, no mutichannel signal.

Has anybody ever fed the DM with a 16/48 signal successfully?

Thanks,

mP

In order to rule out your new converter can you set your computer to output 44.1? I have not fed my DM a 48 signal but I know when my AppleTV outputs a 48 signal it's multichannel. Is there a setting on your computer that you can verify it's only sending two channel? I suspect the output of a multichannel signal is the problem somewhere in your setup.

Thanks for the suggestion. I was looking at "Sound" on my computer this morning but have not been able to determine if it was my computer or the USB>SPDIF unit that sent out the 48kHz signal. The manufacture of the wireless USB>SPDIF says that their signal out is PCM at 48kHz.

Below is the note from DM manual.

Note: This unit only accepts two-channel LPCM digital audio (e.g. Dolby Digital 2.0). You cannot
connect a Dolby Digital 5.1 or a DTS signal as they will not be recognised. If you wish to connect a DVD
or similar device, please ensure that the sound output of your player is set to two-channel PCM.