Dick Sequerra Club?

maxnolte

Recently acquired a pair of Pyramid Metronome 8Ws to compliment my Met 7 pair that I've been listening to for a couple years now. I'm curious how many more of us there are! Let's start a massive Dick Sequerra post and figure out who else is out there jamming this obviously superior speaker technology! I mean, yeah, they have their short comings--i.e. squashed dynamics in the met 7s and a blooming I'm experiencing with the subs. But they're an insane bargain these days and I'm convinced that they'll have their day in court and eventually be recognized as the incredible hi-fi wonder that they are.

Am I crazy? Am I alone? Has anyone attempted a replacement of the 8W woofer? What are you listening to on them? What amps are you pairing them with? How are you wiring the subs? I've just been running one lately, as I got one shipped with a frozen driver.

I have a pair of the 8W subs that I got with bad surrounds in exchange for 4 bass lessons. I put new surrounds on them and they work great. For some reason, I haven't used them much over the last 8 years or so, but I've just gotten inspired to get them going again. They are in my home studio, so will mostly be used for supporting the low end under some ProAC Studio 100s, which are powered by a McIntosh MC2105. They sound good on their own, but there is some stuff missing in the very lowest part of the sound. My DAC is a Metric Halo ULN-8, so I built a crossover in the DSP at around 80 HZ or so. I'm using a Nakamichi receiver with a STASIS power section at the moment, but I'm contemplating using them passively, all powered off the Mac, along with the ProAcs. I don't listen loudly anyway, so I'm sure I have enough power (30 years of being a musician has taken enough of a toll on my hearing). Even with the 40 watts or so per side of the Nak, they got to a very healthy level, to the point that my wife was wondering what the heck was going on.