Did you guys see LBPete's thread: "The Joy of a Japanese Screwdriver"

Blue Shadow

Waiting for Vintage Gear from this century
@LBPete's thread: http://www.audiokarma.org/forums/index.php?threads/the-joy-of-a-japanese-screwdriver.848453/

There are so many that did not know that the JIS standard crosspoint screw head and driver are very different from the US Philips system, I thought it necessary to bring the info out in public instead of hidden in the Sansui Forum.

Have a look to see why your screwdrivers basically suck when working on some of the Japanese gear. Good info you can use to get the right screwdrivers for your workbench.

Last edited:
Yep everyone should have a full set of Philips bits. You can tell you have the right one because it "bites" into the head.

I've been repairing printers for almost 40 years.
Started with SAE, shifted to metric, then some TORX, now special JIS screwdrivers. There is a difference.
Gotta have the right tool for the job. If all you have is a hammer, every problem looks like a nail.

Yep everyone should have a full set of Philips bits. You can tell you have the right one because it "bites" into the head.
These are JIS bits NOT philips. Philips are designed to cam out on proper installation torque, the JIS bits are designed to operate a removable connecting device the screw.

I guess you were using the generic Philips term to indicate any crosspoint tools. There are a few different ones.
If all you have is a hammer, every problem looks like a nail.
The hammer is the installation device. The removal tool is the screwdriver.

This is why I always save any decent quality vintage screwdrivers I come across, never know what odd sized stuff you might encounter.

Since you've brought this up here...

https://www.vesseltools.com/industrial-bits/bit-sets